Happy Mother’s Day.

11 05 2008

Mom.

What do you think of when you hear the word? Some frazzled lady with no make up on and a smashed french fry on her rear end?

From as far back as I can remember, I have desperately wanted to be a Mom. I’ve always known that there is no greater calling. Being a Mom was my biggest goal in life. I’m proud to say that at the ripe age of 26, I achieved this goal. What could have made me place such importance on being a Mommy? The idea of holding a sweet little baby girl in my arms? The thought of cheering for my son as he steals the show at a sporting event? Hardly.

I have been blessed to have the best Mother ever. I know, everyone probably thinks this of their own Mother. I’ve seen the coffee mugs and awful sweatshirts. But, I really do think that I have the best Mother ever.

My Mom is intelligent. She got each of us FIVE kids a great start in life and we all (just this weekend) have our college degrees. And I’m not just talking barely finishing school…with a high school GPA of 3.5, I was the “loser” of the bunch. I think we had 3 valedictorians, or 2 valedictorians and one salutatorian? out of us 5 kids- Eh, I don’t remember- but, you get the idea.

My Mom is gorgeous. I know, I know, a little shallow- but I always had one the the prettiest Moms in our class. You know you compared with the other kids 🙂 Sometimes, people are nice enough to lie and say that I look like her! I wish.

My Mom is funny. Well, actually dorky, but I’m pretty sure it counts. I remember walking in on my Mom in the kitchen, alone, doing the robot. She was actually very good at it. I think she had been practicing for quite some time. When I moved away to college, she sent me a card from the family dog. She actually took the time to dip the dog’s paws in paint so that he could “sign” the card. There are more than a few things that are funny about this. The first thing- she has a German Shepard! Not a beagle. Not a terrier. Imagine this lady dipping the paws of a German shepard into purple paint! Another thing- I was in college a half an hour away from home. It’s not like I was in some far off place desperately missing the family dog. Nope, she just thought it would be funny.

My Mom is loving. She is one of those people whose smile can light up a room. She has a warmth about her that everyone notices. Growing up (and still) I always felt her love.

Was becoming a Mom all I thought it would be? Absolutely. When I look at my baby boy smiling as he drifts off the sleep in the middle of the night or feel my daughter’s little hands playing with my eyelashes as we snuggle in her “big girl” bed I know without a doubt that being a Mother IS the greatest calling on earth. I am so glad to have had the perfect role model! Could I have chosen to travel the world or advance my career? Absolutely. Do I EVER feel like I’m missing out on life? NO WAY! I know, that it wasn’t foolish or simplistic for me to make being a Mom my number one goal. It really is the best thing I could have wished for…and so much more. Indescribable.

Actions

Information

2 responses

11 05 2008
Lisa

You are blessed to have such a wonderful mother!

Have a very happy Mother’s Day Sherri!!

11 05 2008
Jill

Happy mother’s day, sherri!

Jill

Leave a Reply

