raising dorks?

5 09 2008

I admit, I’m not always the best wife. I do sometimes pack things like spaghetti-o’s in my husbands lunch for work. He doesn’t mind and with the price of groceries lately, these canned meals have helped out a lot.  I was feeling particularly lazy the other day at lunch time and figured that I would make some spaghetti-o’s for Greta. What kid doesn’t like spaghetti-o’s? They were even the ones with cut up franks! She took one bite and said, “I don’t like it!”. She would absolutely NOT eat them. She normally loves pasta. She told me that she wanted the chicken in the fridge from the night before (chicken with mushrooms and a wine sauce). So, I put some saran wrap over the spaghetti-o’s and saved them for Joe. But all of this got me thinking…Are we raising dorks? I can just see Greta going to a friends house for a sleepover and gagging when they feed her a party pizza. I personally think dorkiness is usually a good thing- you rarely hear about mean spirited dorks. I wonder how Greta will feel about her dorkiness when she is in about 7th grade 🙂

Actions

Information

3 responses

5 09 2008
Lisa

Obviously your gormet cooking is creating children with very sophisticated taste buds! What lucky kids to have you cooking for them. Can you come to my house??? LOL

5 09 2008
Kristen

LOL what a cute story. I guess somehow you gotta teach such strong confidence so that all the other kids will then think they are the dorks for not liking “fancier” foods. :o)

6 09 2008
Becky

There is nothing wrong with being a dork…as you say…….she will appreciate it trust me!!

Leave a Reply

