Baby’s first Christmas.

31 12 2008

I can’t believe Christmas has already come and gone. We had an absolutely wonderful Christmas this year.  It’s hard to believe that this time last year Miles was not even born yet! I was very (uncomfortably) pregnant and there was a huge cloud of uncertainty over his upcoming birth. As you can see, things have turned out better than anyone could have imagined. I’m so glad that God is the author of life and is in control of all things. Miles wasn’t really sure of what to think of all of the presents and people, but he was a great sport and was such a good little boy despite our carting him around and being away from home for so long.

This was the first year that Greta really understood that Christmas is Jesus’ Birthday.  She kept saying she wanted to have some of Jesus’ Birthday cake and that she wanted to see God. With all of the busyness of the season, we have yet to make our Birthday cake for Jesus. We will actually probably do this tomorrow night. I just really think it is a great, memorable way for kids to celebrate Jesus’ Birthday.

Opening presents with Greta was, well entertaining-she insisted that every present was both to her and from her.

The kids received sooooo many toys and books!  I think I’ll do what I did last year and set some of them aside to open a couple months from now. With both kids birthdays right around Christmas we receive a lot of gifts all at once.

Christmas eve we spent with my family- my parents, my brother Greg- who flew in from L.A., my sister Jill and her boyfriend Christian- who flew in from Switzerland and my little brother Eric.  It was an enormous blessing to see my siblings that I rarely see. My brother Chris was unable to come, but 4 out of 5 is not too bad! That evening we enjoyed our traditional clam chowder soup and lots of other goodies.

Christmas day we woke up and opened presents with my family then headed to Joe’s Mothers house for a late lunch, more presents and the best cheesecake ever!

I didn’t get nearly as many photos taken as I would have liked, but here are some of the highlights…

img_2823img_2818img_2795

img_2814img_2793img_2805img_2779

Actions

Information

3 responses

31 12 2008
Lisa

I like your idea of saving some of the gifts for later. That way they will get to enjoy them more. Sometimes, when there is too much, it is a bit overwhelming.

Happy 1st Christmas to Miles!

31 12 2008
Kristen

I am just dieing over little Miles’ vest. He’s so cute!! I had to giggle over the picture of Greta crying. Kids…they don’t have to work cleaning or cooking, they receive tons of gifts, and can cry whenever they want to…oh to be a kid again!! :o)

1 01 2009
Jill

Sherri,

What great pics. Glad you had such a great Christmas!! I thought you had fallen off the planet or something. Glad to see you back!

Jill

Leave a Reply

