couscous.

3 03 2009

Couscous is something I prepare often with meals. Joe and I both love it and kids adore couscous. It can be used in place of rice or pasta or even on its own as a side dish.  Greta loves couscous so much that she specifically asks for it at the grocery store and she always asks for a second helping! Our favorite cous cous is Hodgson-Mills whole wheat. Last night we had a version of franks and beans with couscous.

img_3176

Sausage and Chick-peas over Couscous

1 pkg. sausage  of your choice (I use low sodium)

1 can chick-peas, drained and rinsed

1 can Italian style stewed tomatoes

1/2 onion, sliced

1/2 c. water

Cut sausage into slices or chunks and brown. Add onion, chick-peas, tomatoes and water and cook until sauce thickens. Serve over prepared couscous. Recipe based on Progresso brand recipe.

Actions

Information

4 responses

3 03 2009
Zoe

I never thought about making a variation like this. Yum! I made your Lentil stew last week… we loved it!

3 03 2009
Kristen

I don’t know if I have every had Couscous.

I can’t wait to get moved into our house, and have my own roomy kitchen, and start making some of these delicious meals you post on here.

3 03 2009
Lisa

Your meals just amaze me. And I think it’s wonderful that your children eat such a wide variety of foods!

I have never had couscous…..but I’ve always liked the name. So fun to say!

3 03 2009
Carla

YUMMY!!!!
I love couscous! Wish hubby did. My 2 year loves it too! I’ll have to try your recipe- sounds delish!

Leave a Reply

