much too much.

29 04 2009

I am currently reading an awesome book called, The Creative Family by Amanda Blake Soule. This book is so much fun! It is full of fabulous ideas for crafts and fun things to do with the kids. One thing I found particularly interesting was that she shares my opinion on children’s toys! I’m pretty sure that our families already know how we feel about this, but I thought I’d share this. I remember our first Christmas with Greta, we came home with an entire van filled with toys…literally.  I felt so guilty.  I never want the “stuff” to take away from celebrations like Easter, Birthdays and Christmas.  Joe and I have  decided that for Birthdays and Easter, we will give our children each one gift. For Christmas, we will do 3 to symbolize the 3 gifts from the 3 wise men.

Well, I could go on and on, but she explains it much better-

“When it comes to playthings for our children, I can’t emphasize enough that for creative play, less really is more in regard to toys.  Between generous gifts from family members, hand-me-downs, and accessible inexpensive toys, it is quite likely that our homes are cluttered and full of playthings. A sad product of our modern world is that our children are taught early on to over consume and to want more, more, and more. Chances are that they do not need more toys, but fewer. When there are too many things around, there’s little room for imaginiation.  Clean out some of the toys you have now that are not used often, and think more critically about the ones you let into your home. Tell family members your philosophy and ask them to share it when they make purchases for your children. Rotating toys in and out of the play space can also be a helpful way to use fewer at a time, and it can provide a “new” way of looking at an old toy.”

Actions

Information

2 responses

29 04 2009
Kristen

That is a refreshing perspective. I once babysat a kid that had clusters and clusters of toys…more toys than there was space to keep them all…and I was shocked at how easily that kid got bored and how much work it took to keep him entertained! I completely agree with the statement:

“When there are too many things around, there’s little room for imagination.”

That is probably why I think better in a clean room than a cluttered one.

30 04 2009
carla

I sooo agree about the toy thing. My family spoils my oldest & I know that Little Man will be too:( I found that I have to have several boxs of toys to rotate, or like Kristin said, They get bored too fast. I think I’m going to adopt you position on Christmas as well, I want my boys to know the real meaning of holidays:)

Leave a Reply

