peace.

26 06 2009

Today we had a couple pre-op appointments in preparation for Miles’ cranial remodeling surgery on Monday. We have been pretty anxious about this.  It is a major surgery! Meeting with Dr. Bruneteau, the plastic surgeon, really put my mind at ease.  He reassured me that this surgery would not be as painful for Miles as his encephalocele repair because there are no nerves where they will be operating. Actually, when I think about it- that previous surgery has really prepared us well for this upcoming one.  We have a pretty good idea of what to expect. But- I don’t think  a person could ever prepare enough for seeing a new, huge scar on your baby’s head!

Still there are some major reasons that we have decided to do this-

-It will help Miles be able to walk sooner.

-It will help Miles be able to drink from a cup while sitting.

-All of the Mothers of children who have had this surgery done that I have spoken to said that while it was hard, it was the best decision they ever made for their child.

-A few of the Mothers even said that their child “took off” developmentally after the surgery.

-Now is the best time to do it.

Sound like I’m giving myself a pep-talk?……I am 🙂 While I do feel much more at peace with our decision, it is still tough to do something that you know will cause your child pain—even if it is for the best in the long run.

Please keep Miles in your prayers. Surgery is Monday morning at 7 am. I am so thankful that God is in control! We are trusting our baby to the Great Physician.

Actions

Information

9 responses

26 06 2009
Jill

We will be praying, praying here! We want to come see you at some point, maybe Wednesday; but if you need/want us sooner, I can be there fast, fast! Let me know. We love you Miles!

The Soldatke’s

26 06 2009
jill suzanne

it will all be fine. and i’ll be there the following week to help out anyway i can 🙂

26 06 2009
Dorene

Good pep-talk 🙂 How awesome that you have more peace. We’re praying, praying.

26 06 2009
Zoe

Miles, your family and the surgical team will be in my prayers!!!

God Bless,
Zoe

26 06 2009
kat

Prayers are coming from the Nygren side of the world! 🙂

26 06 2009
Carla

I will be praying for Miles, your family & the surgeons. I can totally relate to the “pep talk” part. I had to constantly tell myself that he was going to do better at something after the surgery- and he did! I am sure Miles will as well. Prayers are coming your way:)

27 06 2009
Kristen

You’ve had a lot to think about, and have weighed your decisions in a very helpful way! We’ll be praying and thinking of you! I wish I could show my support to you all in person, but know you will be close to my thoughts!

28 06 2009
Lisa

That is a scary surgery, but no doubt Miles will be in good hands.

I will keep Miles in my prayers 🙂

29 06 2009
Michelle

We will be praying for your family. I’ll be watching anxiously for your updates!

Leave a Reply

