Breakfast bars.

15 07 2009

Looking for a quick, healthy breakfast? We have our freezer stocked with these at all times.  I found the recipe here. Joe takes one of these and a banana with him to work for breakfast every morning. The bars are filling and really stick with you! They also contain spirulina.  You can find spirulina in most health food stores.  A container should cost about $20, but I have always gotten it in the bulk spice section so I didn’t have to buy quite so much at once (and it is a fraction of the cost).

2009 031

BREAKFAST BARS

2 1/2 c. oats

1/2 c. flax seed

1/4 c. cocoa powder

1/2 c. natural peanutbutter

1/2 c. honey

1/2 t. spirulina (I use closer to 1 t., but start here until you get used to the taste)

1/2- 1 c. hot water

Combine all ingredients in large bowl. Mix well and form into patties.  Wrap in saran wrap and store in refrigerator or freezer.  Makes 8-12 bars.

Actions

Information

2 responses

16 07 2009
jill suzanne

yum yum! thanks for the recipe! hopefully they are as good when i make them myself 🙂

16 07 2009
Tracey

I will have to try these. I am into spirulina and have some supplements with it in them, but I didn’t know you could buy it in bulk! I make what I call a “power shake” in the morning with plain yogurt, frozen unsweetened fruit, a few ice cubes a squeeze of honey and a splash of milk. Then I always drop a couple of those green supplements in the blender with it. I have terrible acid reflux, so blending the supplements with the shake makes it easier to digest. Just what you wanted to know today…Tracey’s health issues. LOL
Anyway, I am very interested in your healthy recipes. Keep it up, so I can follow. 🙂

Leave a Reply

