crunchy, part 2.

16 07 2009

OK, so I had quite a few people ask why Joe teases me for being crunchy. I don’t really consider myself crunchy and I personally think global warming is a bunch of hooey- but I do strive to be a good steward of all that God has given us on this beautiful earth.

-I do not use paper products with the exception of toilet paper, baby wipes and diapers. (I would have loved to do cloth diapers, but never had enough money at one time to invest in them and -God willing- we are done having children.

-I make pretty much everything from scratch and cook using whole ingredients as much as possible.

-I am a pretty hardcore recycler.

-The  kids and I use all natural soaps, shampoos, toothpaste, etc.

-I do yoga.

-I was a CSA (community supported agriculture) member last year and would have LOVED to be one this year if we could have afforded it! 😦

-In our old house, I actually had an indoor clothesline to air dry clothes year-round. No room in our current laundry room.

-I try not to eat much dairy or meat…not sure if this should count because, I am lactose intolerant and I have never really liked meat.

-I have more than one pair of shoes made from recycled tires, fibers, etc.

-I use earth friendly (which happen to be kid friendly) cleaners.

So,  you tell me…am I crunchy, too??

Actions

Information

4 responses

16 07 2009
daddy

Crunchtastic! Global warming is Hooey!

16 07 2009
Jill

I agree with you about the global warming thing. However, I like you, also agree that we need to take care of the earth that God has given us. I don’t know if I’d call you crunchy…maybe…people call me crunchy, and I do alot of the same things, ie cloth diapers, little paper products, although I don’t do so good on the cooking thing, recycling, natural products. So we can be crunchy together! Yay!

18 07 2009
carla

Be crunchy, be proud! I too am a hard core recycler- mostly because here they charge you by the pound when we bring our trash in to the transfer station (we live in the boonies)
I love your recipes & I love that you have shoes made out of recycled tires!

21 07 2009
kim

i can check all those off on my list too! except the shoes, which is not for lack of wanting, just never seem to have the money when i want them.
while i was pregnant i kept saying i was going to cloth diaper this time, i’m partly waiting until she gets just a little bit bigger so i can buy diapers she’ll wear for awhile, and part of me is having trouble spending that much on diapers at once! maybe i’ll just slowly buy a few here and there.

Leave a Reply

