gretty crocker.

9 09 2009

My mother recently told me a story about when she was a little girl and her mother let her make her very own cake. She let little Maxine measure the ingredients and add whatever ingredients she wanted.  My mother also told me that she remembers to this day how that cake tasted…not too good! After hearing this story, I knew it was something I had to try with Greta. Today as I was making a couple of loaves of banana bread, I let Greta mix up her very own cake. She had so much fun and she even enjoyed the finished product. I tasted it and it was actually pretty good!

fair 001

fair 002

fair 003

fair 005

Actions

Information

3 responses

10 09 2009
Kristen

What a cute idea!

I see now, where you inherited your love for cooking from. I wonder if Greta will someday have a cooking blog just like her mommy.

10 09 2009
Lisa

Thank you for sharing this creative idea. I think that my little Lorelai would benefit from such an experience! We’ll give it a try 🙂

11 09 2009
Carol

Sherri – We let Natalie do this very thing when she was younger. She’d make ‘cookies’. She’d experiment a lot, and make such a mess, have so much fun, be so proud. She was a bit older than Greta and was old enough to be almost afraid to taste her finished product, especially if it didn’t smell quite like she imagined it would. She moved on to dog treats, which all of the dogs loved more than those purchased in town, that made her proud.

Leave a Reply

