Happy 90th Birthday.

14 10 2009

day 078

My Grandmother, Marie turned 90 years old today! She is my only remaining Grandparent.  I have so many memories of Grandma Hain. She always had a kitchen stocked full of candy! She also had the most beautiful jewelry.  When we would go visit, my sister and I would work up the nerve to ask Grandma if we could have a piece of jewelry before we left. I remember being so nervous to ask her, even though she always said “yes”. Grandma was a fabulous cook and baker! She always had baked goods ready to go just in case someone stopped by to visit.

I think my all time favorite memory of Grandma Hain was from when us kids went to stay with her one summer.  Grandma has a Czech accent and when one of my siblings asked, “Grandma, can we go to the pool today?” she replied, “could be!”.  So cute!

Grandma always made a big deal that our birthdays were both in October.  It was kind of like our little shared secret. She even gave me her baby ring that has the October birth stone.

day 096

Another thing I am proud to share with Grandma is her hazel eyes.  She is a beautiful woman and even though she is in a nursing home and unable to make dumplings and sauerkraut and care for all of her beautiful plants- she is still lovely to be around. Happy Birthday, Grandma Hain. I love you!

day 094day 098

Actions

Information

2 responses

14 10 2009
Lisa

90 years! wow! Happy birthday 🙂

14 10 2009
Jill Suzanne

i ‘m so sad i wasn’t able to go 😥 but i’m glad i got to see her in august.

Leave a Reply

