bread making tips.

12 02 2010

There is nothing better than freshly baked bread.  I was recently on the phone with a friend who mentioned that her bread machine is acting funny whenever she tries to make whole wheat bread. She mentioned how the top of the loaf will sometimes fall in. I have had this happen as well. I certainly do love using my bread machine, but if I am going to take the time to make homemade bread, I want multiple loaves! I often make homemade bread for our family.  Here are a few tips if the idea of making your own bread seems a little daunting.

*Find a great recipe. It may take some testing, but once you have the perfect recipe, you’ll never turn back.

*Invest in a LARGE bowl. If your mixing bowl is large enough, you can do your kneading directly in the bowl and won’t need to make another mess on the counter top!

*Make several loaves. If you are taking the time to bake, bake several and freeze the extras.  The recipe I use makes 3 loaves and is the perfect amount for about 2 weeks.

*Spice it up. Add herbs to one of the loaves, or make hamburger buns out of one loaves worth of dough.

*Revitalize it. Bring bread that has been frozen back to that fresh out of the oven taste- Pop a thawed loaf into the oven at 350 for about 10 minutes.

*Reuse. Save your store bought bread bags and reuse them to store your delicious home made bread!

Yes, I think I’m pretty darn funny 🙂

Actions

Information

2 responses

12 02 2010
carla

That is funny. I love homemade bread:) Was thinking of making some today since we are snowed in. Happy Baking!

16 02 2010
Jacqulyn Miller

That you are my friend!

Leave a Reply

