peter piper picked a peck of pickled peppers.

9 08 2010

I LOVE this time of year! Within the span of a week, I received zucchinis, a BUNCH of hot peppers, bell peppers and cucumbers all for FREE! What is better than free produce?

I know, I’m really dorky. My garden has done great with lettuce, kale and has produced a few peppers, tomatoes and cucumbers, but nothing to get excited about (yet!). We have decided that we will most definitely have a garden every year that we are able. But, next year we will stick with the things that typically grow well in Nebraska.  I am getting very excited about the prospect of an abundance of tomatoes. I will can them, freeze them, roast them, and make pasta sauce.  I have been looking into ways of preserving the other vegetables. Last year, I froze several batches of squash and made pesto.

Today I tried something new. We got tons of jalapeno peppers. This was awesome, but what can a person do with tons of hot peppers all at once? I decided to pickle them.

It was very simple.

-Get clean jars ready

-Remove the stems, seeds and ribs

-Slice into 1/4″ thick pieces (julienne or rings)

-Fill jar with peppers leaving 1″ at the top

-Fill jar with white vinegar, making sure to cover the peppers

-Replace lid and refrigerate

These will be good for up to 1 year! They will get a little softer as the months go by, but now we have peppers for the rest of the year.

Actions

Information

2 responses

9 08 2010
carla

WOW! How awesome is that! I agree, free produce rocks! I wonder if you can do this with cucumbers? I love canning. I just did my first batch of peach jam:) Wish it was a bit cooler though, I can’t keep my garden up with this 100 degree weather:(

10 08 2010
Zoe

I recently did Freezer pickles! They turned out excellent! We grow lemon cucumbers, they look like lemons but taste like cucumbers… I crinkle cut them and followed this recipe….
http://www.tasteofhome.com/Recipes/Easy-Freezer-Pickles

They turned out MUCH better than I thought they would. My MIL was even impressed. They were alot like store bought bread and butter pickles. 🙂

Leave a Reply

