cream of chicken soup mix.

12 01 2011

In the foodie world, recipes that contains a can of cream of chicken (or mushroom, etc) soup is frowned upon. I’m not quite sure why it is considered so particularly tacky, but I do know that those cans of soup have a lot of sodium and other mystery ingredients. As much as I like to try my hand at challenging recipes, some of my favorite recipes call for a can of  “cream of” soup.  This is a great recipe that will not only save you money, but tastes even better than the stuff in the can without all of the salt. As is, this recipe is for cream of chicken soup. You can easily transform it into cream of mushroom or cream of celery by adding sauteed mushrooms or celery while cooking.

Cream of Chicken Soup Mix

2 c. powdered milk

3/4 c. corn starch

1/4 c. chicken bullion granules

2 T. dried minced onion

1 t. dried thyme

1/2 t. basil

1/2 t. oregano

1/2 t. pepper

Combine all ingredients and blend well. Store in airtight container. To make soup, combine 1/2 c. mix and 1 1 /4 c. water. Cook over stove until thick and add 2-3 t. butter or margarine. To make cream of mushroom or celery, add sauteed veggies while cooking. This recipe makes about 9-10 cans worth of soup.

recipe source about.com

Actions

Information

4 responses

12 01 2011
Jill

Seriously…this is awesome!!! thank you for this! I am NOT a foodie; and love a lot of recipes that use cream of mushroom. I fully intend on using this recipe…ALOT!

12 01 2011
josephine

Ooh, this one will be great for me!! My husband can’t eat anything with MSG in it because it give him horrible migraines, and ALL those “cream of” soups have msg! Along with a whole HOST of other things of course…I have to read the ingredients of everything I buy. But I used to make a few different dishes with “cream of” soups, so thanks for this 🙂

12 01 2011
josephine

although…I will have to skip the chicken boullion cubes because those always have msg in them too!

14 01 2011
Jill Suzanne

Oh this is great! Now only if I could find powdered milk……….

Leave a Reply

