cookie tale.

6 04 2010

Once upon a Monday, I was at the local grocery store and purchased a little green bag of sunflower seed cookies. This was unusual as I usually make my own, but these were on sale and had all natural ingredients…even the packaging was delightful! I brought the cookies home and everyone in the family was in love. They were adorable little petite cookies. They were crunchy, buttery and had a divine brown sugar flavor. We went through the green bag quickly.  Since I love to bake, I couldn’t justify buying them again…but I really wanted them! I didn’t have any recipes that were even close to similar, so I went back to the store a few weeks later and purchased one more bag with the intent of making my own copy-cat recipe. We “sampled” them and I formulated a recipe. They weren’t quite right. They needed to be a little smaller, a little more crunchy, and have  a few less sunflower seeds.  A few months later (last night) I tried again.  So, here it is! If you have had those cookies in that cute little green bag…these are pretty close!

Enjoy!

Brown Sugar-Sunflower Seed Cookies

1/2 c. butter

1 c. brown sugar

1 egg

1 t. vanilla

1 1/4 c. flour

3/4 c. oat flour (grind your own from oats in the blender or food processor)

1/2 t. soda

1/4 t. salt

1/3 c. sunflower seeds (I use raw, unsalted)

1/4 c.  granulated sugar

1/4 c. brown sugar

Cream butter and 1 c. brown sugar. Add eggs and vanilla and beat. Stir in flours, soda and salt. Fold in sunflower seeds.In a small bowl, mix 1/4 c. sugar with 1/4 c. brown sugar.  Roll dough into small balls (remember these are petite cookies). Roll each ball in sugar mixture and press down slightly after placed on cookie sheet. Bake at 350 for approximately 8 minutes or until golden brown.


Actions

Information

3 responses

6 04 2010
Michelle

Ooooh, those look good. We’ll have to try those and the recipe looks fairly easy to make Owen-safe (no eggs or milk products) We just replace the butter with 1/2 Smart Balance Light + 1/2 vegetable shortening and the egg replacer Ener-g. Thanks for the recipe!

6 04 2010
sherrilee

That’s funny! I used Earth balance (which I like even better than smart balance for cookies) and often use Ener-G in my cookies 🙂

13 04 2010
Whitney Rohrig

I have had those (Hyvee Health Market :)..I am going to try that recipe! What’s better than a healthy cookie that kids will eat? 🙂

Leave a comment